The Latest News in Conservation

Club Honors Robert Model with Highest Award

Robert Model

Robert Model of Cody, Wyo., has received the Boone and Crockett Club's Sagamore Hill Medal--the organization's highest honor. 

Model is only the ninth individual to receive the award since its creation in 1948. 

A special honor given for distinguished devotion to the objectives of the Club, founded in 1887 by Theodore Roosevelt, the Sagamore Hill Medal is given by the Roosevelt family in memory of past members Theodore, Theodore Jr. and Kermit Roosevelt. 

The award was presented Sat., Dec. 7, 2013, at the Club's annual meeting in Denver. 

Model is a longtime leader, past president and founding chair of Boone and Crockett's Government Affairs and Conservation Policy committees. A Club citation presented to Model reads: 

"...For tenacious focus on the historic ideals and vision of the Boone and Crockett Club's founders; and 

"For absolute insistence on the perpetuation of the Club's original mission, and continued advancement of the Club's historic legacy of achievement; and 

"For leading the Boone and Crockett Club back to its historic leadership role in the national conservation arena and in Washington, D.C., the keystone of the Club's second century of its legacy of achievement; and 

"For inspiring the creation of the Sporting Conservation Council, a federal advisory committee, and his chairmanship thereof from 2005-2007, and continuing active membership to date..." 

In a congratulatory letter to Model, US Sen. Michael Enzi of Wyoming wrote that the Sagamore Hill Medal is "only given to those who have made an overwhelmingly unique contribution to the Club that will likely change the Club for the better, forever. Those few words describe so very well the impact you have had on the Club and on so many things. Simply put, you have been a great ambassador for ranching, for Wyoming, for the Boone and Crockett Club and for so much more..." 

Previous recipients of the Sagamore Hill Medal include Jack S. Parker (2007), George C. Hixon (1997), Philip L. Wright (1996), William I. Spencer (1992), C.R. "Pink" Gutermuth (1987), Robert Munro Ferguson (1977), Richard King Mellon (1968), and DeForest Grant (1952). 

The Club also presents a Sagamore Hill Award for outstanding big game trophies. This award, presented only 17 times since 1948, honors extraordinary hunts that exemplify the sporting values that Roosevelt championed--fair chase, self-reliance, perseverance, selective hunting, and mastery of challenges.