Boone and Crockett Club | Sagamore Hill Award | Wildlife Conservation | Deer Hunting | Elk Hunting | Big Game Hunting

For Distinguished Devotion

In 1992, William I. Spencer received the Sagamore Hill Award. At that point, the award had been made only four times in over 100 years of the Club’s existence. The award ceremony, appropriately enough, took place at Inspiration Point on the Theodore Roosevelt Memorial Ranch.

Mr. Spencer was an active member of the Boone and Crockett Club from 1970 until his passing — a total of 31 years of service. He served as the Club’s President for the years 1983-1984, which were years of dramatic change — the echoes of which continue to the present time.

The Sagamore Hill Medal, created in 1948, is given by the Roosevelt family in memory of Theodore Roosevelt (Founder and first President of the Boone and Crockett Club), Theodore Roosevelt, Jr., and Kermit Roosevelt. There are actually two types of awards – one for recognition of an outstanding big game trophy and another special award for distinguished devotion to the objectives of the Club. This second award may also be presented by the Executive Committee of the Boone and Crockett Club. The Sagamore Hill Medal is the highest award given by the Boone and Crockett Club.

Below is a list of all the recipients of the Special Sagamore Hill Award:

1952 - DeForest Grant
“For long and distinguished service to conservation.”

1968 - Richard King Mellon
“For devoted and dedicated service to the conservation of our North American wildlife heritage.”

1977 - Robert Munro Ferguson
“For unswerving loyalty to his heritage, his principles and his friends.”

1987 - C.R. “Pink” Gutermuth
“For life-long conservation service to the nation and for achievement of the Boone and Crockett Club’s goals.”

1992 - William I. Spencer
“For tenacious focus on the vision of the Club’s founders and absolute insistence on the perpetuation of their original mission.”

1996 - Philip L. Wright
“For lifelong commitment to conservation; For dedication to the principles of fair chase and scientific integrity with the records program.”

1997 - George C. Hixon
“For steadfast devotion to the preservation of the Club's rich traditions and its historical legacy of wildlife conservation.”

“For steadfast leadership during a critical time in the Club's history. For always providing quiet, forceful, dependable counsel to Club leaders in the years since."

© 2017 Boone and Crockett Club ® | Acceptable Use and Privacy Policy